Jasprit Bumrah’s brilliant five-wicket haul helped Mumbai Indians (MI) restrict Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) to 165/9 in IPL 2022. In such a situation, it seemed that before the race for the playoffs, Mumbai would register its third consecutive win. For this, the team expected good performance from the batsmen, which did not happen and the team lost the match. Captain Rohit Sharma got out in the very first over. He was caught by wicketkeeper Sheldon Jackson off Tim Southee’s delivery.
However, the decision to give out Rohit was full of controversies. He tries to defend the ball back off the length, but misses and the ball goes to the wicketkeeper. The catch was appealed and the umpire gave him not out. After this, Kolkata captain Shreyas Iyer took a review. Ultra Edge shows a spike and is given out.
When the ball is passing from Rohit, there was a clear spike in the ultra edge, but on seeing the replays it is clear that there is a lot of distance between the ball and the bat. The ball hit the Thai pad and went to the keeper. Even after this, the third umpire declared him out. Rohit was completely surprised by this decision and similar was the condition of Mumbai’s co-owner Akash Ambani. Fans erupted on social media after giving wrong out to Rohit Sharma. Users said that Rohit was not out. How could the third umpire not show what we saw? All such comments were seen.
The standard of umpiring in IPL 2022 has been very poor. The controversy surrounding the no ball in the match against Delhi Capitals (DC) and Rajasthan Royals (RR) will not be forgotten. Virat Kohli has also become a victim of wrong decision. In the match between Mumbai and Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB), he was given out lbw by the umpire on the ball of Dewald Brevis. The right-handed batsman took the review.
Replays showed that the ball hit the bat and the pad simultaneously. The TV umpire considered that there was insufficient evidence to overturn the decision. Whereas the rule states that if this happens, it should be considered that the ball has hit the bat first. RCB had also tweeted about this. In this he told about the rules of MCC.